per person /


Home Courses

Curriculum National

Curriculum National



Course Attendees

Still no participant

Course Reviews

Still no reviews

Sri Lankan National Curriculum

The Sri Lankan national curriculum is divided into five parts – Primary, Junior Secondary, Senior Secondary, Collegiate and Tertiary.


Primary education lasts for 5 to 6 years (Grade 1-5), Junior/Secondary lasts for 4 years (Grade 6-9), Senior Secondary lasts for 2 years (Grade 10-11) in preparation for the GCE O/Levels. Students must pass GCE O/Levels to enter the collegiate level and study for another 2 years (Grades 12-13) to sit for GCE A/Levels which is the university entrance examination. It is optional for students to sit the scholarship examination during the final year of the Primary School (Grade 5) and based on the marks of this extremely competitive examination the students may get an opportunity to get transferred to a prominent national school.


Sri Lankan GCE O/Level examination is conducted by the Department of Examinations. It is based on the British O/Level qualifications and is a qualification on its own right but more often taken as a pre-requisite for the more in-depth and academically rigorous A/Levels. It is taken by students at the end of the Senior Secondary School or non-school external candidates.


Sri Lankan GCE A/Level examination is also conducted by the Department of Examinations and is similar to the British A/Levels. It is taken at the end of Collegiate Level School candidates or non-school external candidates. This qualification is used as an entrance examination for Sri Lanka national universities.


There are 4 major fields of study at Collegiate Level and students should study for 2 years at this level before taking the examination.

  1. Physical Science Stream (Combined Maths, Physics and Chemistry)
  2. Biological Science Stream (Biology, Physics, Chemistry)
  3. Commerce and Accounting Stream
  4. Arts Stream

In each stream students should face a minimum of 3 subjects. Additionally, there is a General English Test and Common General Test. The results of the General English Test is not taken in to consideration for the University Entrance selection criteria, but students are required to obtain a pass mark for Common General Test.


Royal Institute branch school in Maharagama teaches from the Nursery up to A/Levels in the National Curriculum in the English medium as the Ministry of Education has granted permission to Royal Institute to present candidates to Local A/Level examinations.


Normal Ages

Primary Kindergarten 4-5 years old
Grade 1            5-6 years old
Grade 2            6-7 years old
Grade 3            7-8 years old
Grade 4            8-9 years old
Grade 5            9-10 years old
Junior Secondary Grade 6            10-11years old
Grade 7                    11-12 years old
Grade 8                    12-13 years old
Grade 9                    13-14 years old
Senior Secondary Grade 10       14-15years old
Grade 11               15-16 years old
Collegiate Grade 12       16-17 years old
Grade 13               17-18 years old

Our Main Teachers

Price : Free